I’ve spent a lot of time at Ardgillan Castle www.ardgillancastle.ie in North County Dublin but have never been able to take the tour of inside. We go to the amazing playground which has such a beautiful view of the sea, we have visited the rose garden and have had a coffee in the tea rooms. A tour hasn’t been really on the cards with two small kids in tow, but yesterday my two munchkins were invited to a birthday party there & I had no idea that I would end up getting some lovely glimpses of the castle itself. The party was for one of my little guy’s oldest friends & one of my first ‘Mum Friends’ – not only was it a fab place for her daughter to have her birthday, I’d just like to say a wee Thanks to Sue for giving me a chance to see some of the castle as well as my kids having a day to remember!

The back of the Castle – we started the party in the room at the window which is second from right 

The kids were dressed up in period costumes and Jasper, the Jester, brought the castle to life with fantastical stories & some fun props along the way. On many occasions, we walked through secret doors to the next room.I honestly don’t know who was more excited, the kids or me…

A pretty gorgeous spinning wheel in a bedroom

I would happily have these curtains in my home! 

This lighting was in a room which had quite a lot of Taxidermy in it, and while I’m aware of current Interior trends for this, I’m not a fan! I preferred to Look Up

Rich period hues in the main Dining Room

I’m thinking this Screen Insert is pretty old…

The kids were told that there was a ghost in this photo – Can you see it?

Some pieces that caught my eye

We weren’t in this room but I can’t resist when I see an open door & glimpse some beauty! This room was light-filled and the Yellow was vibrant.

We moved downstairs to the Castle Kitchens & I got pretty excited, as this is always a favourite part of Castles for me.

The main part of the Kitchens was quite dark

In contrast to the side Kitchens, which were filled with Light

And I spotted a pretty little flat lay in the Kitchen beside

As I mentioned in the title, this is simply a ‘glimpse’ and I really hope it’s given you a little taste of what to expect, should you visit. 

The day was, after all, about a special little lady who turned 7 and we retreated to the party room downstairs for the main event!

Happy Birthday Princess! Hope you had a wonderful day xx

