Hi all! Well, I’ve been fairly MIA on Social Media in the last while as I got ready for our Kitchen Re-Do! Turns out I can’t blog and do-up the Kitchen at the same time! Things were also slightly scuppered by my little girl being unwell, which, as I looked after her, slowed down the preparation stage. This resulted in me still taking things out of cupboards at 1am, the morning that the guys were arriving! But, sure, no pain no gain, right?!

Just a little background, for those of you new to the blog

We bought our house nearly 3 years ago and it needed work. We put in new floors, downstairs toilet & bathroom before we moved in and then replaced doors, windows and blinds when we moved in. The Kitchen was the next thing on the ‘hit list’ and when you see these photo’s, you’ll know why!

image

First up is the section that the fridge was standing in. This had quite clearly had an inbuilt fridge in it and there must have been some kind of leak, so, a new fridge was bought and pushed into the space. Underneath the fridge was pretty gross…

image

The kids pretty much chose the fridge. I kid you not. The minute the kids saw that it had a water dispenser on the front of it, no other fridge would do!

image

…and here’s an early morning photo of the rest of the kitchen for a little perspective! Even with the morning sunlight, you can see how dark the pine makes the space.

When the materials started to arrive, that’s when I got really excited as they were exactly as I’d hoped…

image

image

As the fun began, I had to get out of the house as much as possible with the kids, so my photo’s of the ‘in between’ phase are non-existant but was squeeling with delight as I saw the first cupboards disappear!

image

3 days of work gave us a Kitchen which we now love. There is more work to do (Tiling, New Cooker…etc) but I’m delighted with the difference Cabinet Re-Facing and new Counters has made

image

image

The section which previously looked like this, for example…

image

image

…now looks like this…

image

image

And the awful Extractor fan that jutted out so much, I spent the first little while hitting my head off it, was replaced with a grey, inbuilt extractor which also has a light. This isn’t visible here, but here’s the more streamlined effect

image

The cupboards have been cleaned out and I’ve started to put things back, but as I started the Kon Mari Method this year, I am very mindful of what is returning to the kitchen. I’m keeping what’s on the kitchen counters to an absolute minimum, for example, while interjecting some colour too!

image

Wish me luck as I purge the kids toys before their toy boxes come back downstairs to the play area (seen here on the right) – the fight against toys continues…but for the moment, I’m really looking forward to that first quiet breakfast in the kitchen on Monday morning!

Thanks for reading & Have the loveliest weekend, whatever you do xxxx

Hilda x

