Hey! How is your Wednesday so far? Yesterday was St. Patrick’s Day here in Ireland and I guess it’s no surprise that there has been quite a ‘Green’ theme to my week!
I finally got around to doing a quick change to my little guy’s room today. We have these standard built – in wardrobes in our bedrooms that you see in every house built in the ’90’s. I am hoping to improve them considerably! One of the things I had noticed that my little guy liked to play at the ‘vanity area’, watching himself in the mirror as he played! I kinda thought to myself that he won’t be using this space for his shaving cream, beard cream…or whatever cream for a while yet, so I’d go with the ‘play area’ idea! I had heard that there were some cool contacts out there for improving furniture…etc and bought some today to try it out!

image

This is the brand they sell at my local Homebase so I went with this, not really knowing where to start. They had a great selection but I was looking for something with texture {this is ‘velour’} and something resembling grass/a road where he could use his imagination! It retails at €11.69. The space was cleaned down thoroughly first + left to dry and then I popped down the contact after measuring it up.

image

image

You will need a Stanley knife to get that nice even cut. Oh, and a fair bit of patience to rub gently while placing down the sticky side, gently rubbing out any bubbles that appear.

image

I’m pretty pleased with the result and am interested to see how durable it is/how clean it stays under some tough play sessions! I’ll let you know! His sister approved anyway as she couldn’t wait for a test run…

image

But he had other ideas about what he would play with there as these guys came out straight away!

image

To be honest, I’m eyeing up my own Vanity area now! There were some pretty cute Metallic contacts too…
http://www.homebase.co.uk

