Hi all & how was your Sunday? I have to admit that mine was a little hazy as I ask myself if yesterday actually happened? I’m still not sure!
A little back story may be needed, but I’ll try & be as brief as I can. Last year, I watched a programme on BBC2 called ‘The Great Interior Design Challenge’. It made me realise that I wanted to work in Interior Design. Voilà! Brief as i could make it!!
Ok. Sorry. I can’t be THAT brief…The programme awakened in me something that I think was always there: a love for Design. I set up a Facebook page to share my passion, which also led to blogging. But at the very beginning of the page, I wrote messages to people who had inspired me to ‘put myself out there’. Many were contestants on the first series & I contacted Sophie also. I think I was kinda shy to contact Daniel!! Many got back to me, supported me, including Sophie who was in the middle of designing room sets for the Ideal Home Show. I really appreciated that these strangers reached out + took the time to nurture my passion & it really spurred me on. So, Thank you all. You know who you are xx
The judges of the programme Sophie Robinson & Daniel Hopwood announced that they were holding a Masterclass in London. My wonderful Hubbie bought me the trip for my Christmas/Birthday present {I know! Keeper, right?} and yesterday, I woke at an unbelievably early hour + caught a plane to Heathrow, London.

image

As I waited for the lift to catch the Heathrow Express, this amazing Modern structure caught my eye. I love the surprises Airports throw at you when you least expect it.
I was in Central London in about an hour after landing and was transported to a very different world…

image

Portman Square was a delight. I arrived at the class early so I took a wee stroll around the square and wasn’t dissapointed.

image

image

image

image

*I have a little ‘thing’ for doors!!*
And then, the all important door had to be opened

image

image

20 Portman Square is the location for Daniel’s Private Members Club Home House + the Asylum Room {!} would be OUR home for the day.
The stairway that greeted me took my breath away

image

And then I looked up because you should always look up.

image

At this point I caught sight of Sophie & Daniel and got the most lovely welcome! The other attendees were gathering at this point upstairs in the Drawing room, so up these beautiful stairs I went

image

…but took a few sneaky pics of the other side of the hallway also, before I joined the other lovely participants…

image

image

And such a gorgeous lot they were! There was only an intimate 16 of us so we all got time to get to know eachother a little.
The Masterclass itself was divided into Daniel firstly speaking about The Design Process from the start of a project to the end and what that entails. Sophie spoke about Colour {…any of you who know me will know that I loved every second of this talk!}. After lunch, Daniel showed us a lot of his own amazing projects & spoke about them in depth and Sophie ended the day with Styling.
I have pages of notes which I hope to put into practice but some Things that I took away with me from this amazing day were a sense that it’s very important to be true to yourself + your own Style. Not to be afraid of Colour. That Pinterest is Wonderful for inspiration but there is no substitute for ‘real-life’ inspiration.
Some quotes of the day:
Daniel: “Taste is controlled by other people”
Sophie: “Colour isn’t just a Wall colour”
Daniel: “We’ve got to fight Beige!”
We had a lot of fun during the day. It was very clear that Sophie + Daniel get on wonderfully and complement eachother in their knowledge of Interior Design. And to be a little ‘fan girl’ for a second: They really are as nice ‘in real life’ as they are ‘on the telly’ xx

image

{Photo Source Sophie Robinson}

image

{Photo Source Daniel Hopwood}

image

http://sophieanddaniel.com
http://homehouse.co.uk

